Itineraries

This section features trips that I’ve designed (and led) in the past, or have planned for the future.  I’ll be adding more itineraries as I go along.  Maybe they will help you as you plan  your next trip!

This first one is a trip I planned for December 2017.

 

Christmas Magic in Bavaria, Bohemia, and Saxony

This tour is very “date-specific!”  Because of the limited opening times for some of the best markets, and because many markets have special events that I want to attend, that are only held on specific days, the tour dates are “set in stone”, as they say!  

 

Day 1     (Wed, Dec 6)  Fly from US to Munich, Germany (overnight flight)

Day 2     (Thu, Dec 7)  Arrive in Munich.  Afternoon city tour.  Evening visit to market on Marienplatz (with famous Glockenspiel).  Overnight in                Munich.

Day 3     (Fri, Dec 8)  Excursion to Neuschwanstein Castle.  Return to Munich for overnight.

Day 4     (Sat, Dec 9)  Drive to Schloss Guteneck for market.  Overnight in Amberg.

Day 5     (Sun, Dec 10)  Drive to Auerbach in der Oberpfalz for Bergwerksweihnacht market.  Overnight in Amberg.

Day 6     (Mon, Dec 11)  Drive to Cheb for market visit.  Continue to Prague.  City tour.  Castle tour with Changing of the Guard.  Charles                            Bridge.  Astronomical Clock.  Evening at Old Town Market.  Overnight in Prague.

Day 7     (Tue, Dec 12)  Free time in Prague.  Evening visit to Wenceslas Square Market.  Overnight in Prague.

Day 8     (Wed, Dec 13)  Drive to Dresden.  Evening visit to Striezelmarkt.  Overnight in Dresden.

Day 9     (Thu, Dec 14)  City tour of Dresden.  Zwinger, Semper Oper, the restored FrauenkircheGrünes Gewölbe.  Evening visit to various                              markets.  Overnight in Dresden.

Day 10    (Fri, Dec 15)  Drive to Seiffen.  Free day in Seiffen and overnight.

Day 11    (Sat, Dec 16)  Seiffen market with Bergparade (Mountain Parade.)  Overnight in Seiffen.

Day 12    (Sun, Dec 17)  Drive to Nürnberg.  Visit Christkindlesmarkt.  Overnight in Nürnberg.

Day 13    (Mon, Dec 18)  City tour of Nürnberg.  Nuremberg Trials courtroom tour.  Free time.  Evening drive to Munich and overnight.

Day 14    (Tue, Dec 19)  Fly back to US, arriving same day.  Merry Christmas!